StatCounter User Forum  
StatCounter Free web tracker and counter

Go Back   StatCounter User Forum > Webmaster > Lounge (non-StatCounter related topics here!)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2007, 12:46 PM
flunn flunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: montreal
Posts: 74
Default can anyone help me identify a mystery visitor?

I have a English as a Second Language site, flesl.net. Traffic has recently been averaging about 170 hits a day. Until yesterday the most hits I'd ever had in one day was 525 at the beginning of the school year, last September.

In the last twelve hours or so, however I've had an unprecedented surge of traffic — at least six hundred hits, almost all of them apparently from the same source. (I can't be sure of this because my log size is only one hundred.)

This is fine with me of course, but I'm a bit frustrated. I like to know roughly at least who my visitors are, or at least where they are. But the StatsCounter reports on these visits give no information about the visitor's country,region, city or ISP. The host name is given as ip-190-83-17-125.coldecon.com. By googling this, and using a site I ran into (but don't really understand) called SenderBase I've got the impression the visits are coming from somewhere in Latin America, perhaps Colombia, but this is just a guess really.

Any comments or advice as to how I might identify the mystery visitor would be much appreciated.

regards to all
  #2  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:39 PM
Brisguy52's Avatar
Brisguy52 Brisguy52 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,755
Send a message via Yahoo to Brisguy52
Smile

Howdy flunn

Here's a whois on that IP addy.
We get a few spammers in this forum from this IP range.


WhoIs Lookup performed by Karen's WhoIs
http://www.karenware.com/
OrgName: Latin American and Caribbean IP address Regional Registry
OrgID: LACNIC
Address: Rambla Republica de Mexico 6125
City: Montevideo
StateProv:
PostalCode: 11400
Country: UY
ReferralServer: whois://whois.lacnic.net
NetRange: 190.0.0.0 - 190.255.255.255
  #3  
Old 03-04-2007, 08:27 PM
flunn flunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: montreal
Posts: 74
Default thanks to BrisGuy

Thanks to BrisGuy for his answer to my post. I don't have the Whois software he used but did check later with an online Whois and once again found that the hits seem to be coming from Colombia (Bogota?). Interesting his software would come up with something on the other side of the same continent.

I was also interested in BrisGuy's reference to spam.

Did he mean to imply that a barrage of hits on a website could be a sort of spam? And if so, what would its purpose be?

Another question that's occurred to me: why sometimes is there no indication on StatsCounter of where a visit is coming from?
  #4  
Old 03-04-2007, 08:41 PM
trackerm's Avatar
trackerm trackerm is offline
Master Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,248
Default

Give them a ring and ask them:

Administrative Contact:
contact, technical tec_domains@coldecon.com
coldecon s.a.
calle 99# 41-59
bogota, 1005
co
+57.16187111
+57.16187182

Technical Contact:
sandoval muoz, luis eduardo gerente@continental.com.co
cra 1e # 71a 49
cali, *
co
+57.24401442
+57.24058755



Do you get students from South America? If its all from one IP address it may be some information that a school in Colombia has found and disseminated to their students etc. It may just be some spam type thing in which case you can deny all hits using .htaccess

Using http://centralops.net/co/DomainDossier.aspx
__________________

Gone Sailing!
www.OurLifeAtSea.com

Last edited by trackerm; 03-04-2007 at 08:45 PM.
  #5  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:04 PM
flunn flunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: montreal
Posts: 74
Default .htaccess? (etc)

Very interesting. But I won't phone because I don't speak Spanish and even if did, I suppose I'd just be contacting the host of whoever it was who visited my site and it'd look like I was spying or, at least complaining. Anyway I haven't had any more visits so I guess it wasn't spam.
I was also interested in the reference to .htaccess. I've been trying to avoid having to figure out what it is. Now I guess I have to.

regards from flunn
  #6  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:12 PM
flunn flunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: montreal
Posts: 74
Default dissemination is what I want!!

I should have added to that last post that if it was, as Trackerm suggested, a matter of a school in Colombia disseminating information to their students, that's fine with me. Exactly what I want.

It's just that it's frustrating not knowing who they are or how they're using the materials—let alone being able to get in touch with them.

flunn
  #7  
Old 03-07-2007, 11:21 PM
webado's Avatar
webado webado is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flunn
Thanks to BrisGuy for his answer to my post. I don't have the Whois software he used but did check later with an online Whois and once again found that the hits seem to be coming from Colombia (Bogota?). Interesting his software would come up with something on the other side of the same continent.

I was also interested in BrisGuy's reference to spam.

Did he mean to imply that a barrage of hits on a website could be a sort of spam? And if so, what would its purpose be?

Another question that's occurred to me: why sometimes is there no indication on StatsCounter of where a visit is coming from?
Every whois application has it's own favorite database where they look things up.

I'd stick to one: www.whois.sc .
__________________
Christina
>>Forum Moderator<<

Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that.

Last edited by webado; 03-08-2007 at 01:30 PM.
  #8  
Old 03-08-2007, 06:06 AM
fuzzy fuzzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,145
Default

Hey Chris, you might want to have a look at that URL...
  #9  
Old 03-08-2007, 07:13 AM
NeilB NeilB is offline
Master Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via Skype™ to NeilB
Default

I regularly get 100s of pageloads from the same IP address. These are normally schools where kids are on a network but it shows as one IP address on statcounter.
Depends whether you are talking about individual visits or pageloads when you mention 'hits'.

Cheers
Neil
  #10  
Old 03-08-2007, 01:31 PM
webado's Avatar
webado webado is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzy
Hey Chris, you might want to have a look at that URL...

Grrr... it's the full WYSIWYG editor messing all up. I'll get rid of it. I forget why I enabled that in my user CP in the first place.
__________________
Christina
>>Forum Moderator<<

Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.