StatCounter User Forum  
StatCounter Free web tracker and counter

Go Back   StatCounter User Forum > StatCounter.com > Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-14-2004, 01:47 AM
MassiveAttack
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am also getting this information in my statistics. The problem is that my website is not listed anywhere and only people that I talk to should even know that it exists. So how could I be getting this statistic as well.

ns1.6host.com (69.72.196.210)
file://localhost/D:/1.html
http://www.webloganalyzer.biz

I got the same statistic 4 times.
  #12  
Old 09-14-2004, 01:50 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So what do you think is up guys?

Is webloganalyzer.biz trying to attack the service?
  #13  
Old 09-14-2004, 01:56 AM
MassiveAttack
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think you are getting spammed. The website is using your code to post their website into people's statistics. Since they offer the same type of service you do, it is obvious they are spamming to get new customers. I mean we all know their website now.
  #14  
Old 09-14-2004, 02:45 AM
webado's Avatar
webado webado is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmaster
So what do you think is up guys?

Is webloganalyzer.biz trying to attack the service?
I think they are simply running a spider through a bunch of web sites whose urls'they've picked up from who knows where, maybe for the purpose of spamming those sites and inviting them to their own tracking service.

They may have picked up a list of sites rigth from here at Statcounter, manually or in some automated fashion, though, stored it on their own server and let the spider loose on the lot.

Best to ignore them and not give them any more prominence than that. Incidentally, if their url appears here, they will gleefully benefit form the exposure
__________________
Christina
>>Forum Moderator<<

Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that.
  #15  
Old 09-14-2004, 01:48 PM
sot_II
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah that's why the pages are loading from their c and d drives, right...


Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisooc
Quote:
Originally Posted by webmaster
So what do you think is up guys?

Is webloganalyzer.biz trying to attack the service?
I think they are simply running a spider through a bunch of web sites whose urls'they've picked up from who knows where, maybe for the purpose of spamming those sites and inviting them to their own tracking service.

They may have picked up a list of sites rigth from here at Statcounter, manually or in some automated fashion, though, stored it on their own server and let the spider loose on the lot.

Best to ignore them and not give them any more prominence than that. Incidentally, if their url appears here, they will gleefully benefit form the exposure
  #16  
Old 09-14-2004, 02:08 PM
webado's Avatar
webado webado is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sot_II
Yeah that's why the pages are loading from their c and d drives, right...
The file://localhost/... part of the path suggests to me a server, rather than a standalone computer.
__________________
Christina
>>Forum Moderator<<

Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that.
  #17  
Old 09-14-2004, 04:53 PM
murdermysterymixer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default webloganalyzer.biz reviewing sites

I too have webloganalyzer.biz downloading my website. My two websites that are using statcounter have both been downloaded and reviewed by webloganlyzer.biz within minutes of each other. What I find bizarre about that is that the content of those two websites have nothing to do with each other and are not linked together. Further, they do not rank well, (the angelfire one not at all) in the search engines so the odds of finding both of them minutes apart is NOT likely. The common link is the statcounter code - and I would think by reviewing webloganalyzer.biz that they are a statcounter competitor.

My concern is, how did weblogzanlyzer.biz find webpages with statcounter code? And more importantly how did they find both my websites and access them minutes apart. It makes me nervous that they have access to my account info.
  #18  
Old 09-14-2004, 05:00 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

They don't have access to your account info.

Any visitor can visit your webpage and be logged, the same way, anyone if they wanted could log themselves as a visit if they want. The question would be why. We can block hits from them and their ip address(es) it's not a problem. And they do NOT have access to your account info.
  #19  
Old 09-14-2004, 05:30 PM
murdermysterymixer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default weird stats

It is a relief to know they do not have my account info. However, they do have sufficient knowledge to know that I have two websites hosted in two completely different places on two completely different subjects with no connection between the two other than the stat counter code which in no way indicates or links one site to the other except through the account here with statcounter. That is what baffles me and concerns me. How did they get that information?

So, are our stats available to spiders to crawl or some other automation that a company might put in use? I have my stats set to private. If is merely industrial espionage and attempts to introduce themselves through the duplicit manner of getting listed as a hit in our stats - so be it. However, my question and concern remains, how did they know to find my websites as your clients?

The downloading part makes sense that perhaps they have some automation working and then they do a run through and click the links. I also noticed it is a dial-up account - not being familiar with the Ukraine, that may or may not indicate anything but you would think a business would have a DSL or cable. Perhaps that isn't available in the Ukraine..

P.S. I am loving using statcounter. It is very impressive.
  #20  
Old 09-14-2004, 06:23 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

your project ids are probably close together.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.