StatCounter User Forum  
StatCounter Free web tracker and counter

Go Back   StatCounter User Forum > StatCounter.com > Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2005, 01:05 PM
WoodYouLike WoodYouLike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 79
Default Can someone explain this?

Since last weekend one of my sites gets 1 hit a day from 5 different visitors, all with no refering link and no mentioning of visited page (and also with 0 returning visits?).
They come from:
Honduras: gtisatgu.terra.hn (Lacnic)
Colorado, Englewood, United States: keycompanies.com (Icg Netahead Inc)
Michigan, United States: mail.tng-systems.com (Logix Communications Inc)
United Kingdom: no-reverse-defined.ruskin-mill.org.uk (Ruskin Mill College)
and
Netherlands: 213.126.93.195.ip.onderwijs.casematelecom.nl (Casema Customer Assignment)

anyone else who has seen this on their Stat's or can explain what is going on here?
__________________
Wood You Like, Natural Wooden Flooring
www.wood-you-like.co.uk
  #2  
Old 06-12-2005, 01:13 PM
webado's Avatar
webado webado is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28,179
Default

They are bots that run image enabled (but not javascript enabled). This is why there's no url information being logged.

I am familiar with mail.tng-systems.com as it's been scouring my sites and other people's sites for a while now.

What the prupose of those bots is is anybody's guess. They coul dbe image bots or maybe spambots, out looking for either emal addresses to harvest or unsecured mail scripts you may be having on your hosting account that coudl be exploited.

You could attempt to block their visits by simply denying the ip address if your hosting provides a handy tool for that. I have blocke mail.tng-systems.com on principle. The owners of the site pretend they don't know their mail server is used for something so to me that's fishy to start with.

I haven't looked at others closely.
__________________
Christina
>>Forum Moderator<<

Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that.
  #3  
Old 06-12-2005, 01:23 PM
WoodYouLike WoodYouLike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 79
Default

Cheers Chrisooc
__________________
Wood You Like, Natural Wooden Flooring
www.wood-you-like.co.uk
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.