StatCounter User Forum  
StatCounter Free web tracker and counter

Go Back   StatCounter User Forum > StatCounter.com > Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2005, 06:08 AM
tonyjoh tonyjoh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 21
Default Impossible results

My configuration is set to block my own IP

I was surprised to find it in the stats, but when I drilled down it was there with the info of bigpond nsw etc which is correct but then further down under country it put me in Minnesota USA and quoted an ISP I have never heard of.

In other words with my IP it reported in one place correct info then in another column incorrect info.

Is this normal? Does it mean I need to treat all info from stat counter with suspicion?

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2005, 07:30 AM
webado's Avatar
webado webado is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28,145
Default

Does a city with the same name as your city exist in the USA perhaps?

When things get sorted by one field such as the city, and there are multiple occurrences of that city name (albeit in differnt states or countries) and only the top first occurrence is kept (try it in Excel), this is what happens at times. For example of the city is Paris, Paris, France and another one is Paris, NY, USA, well, guess which one comes first?

I agree, stats by city alone are meaningless. It should be stats by city + region + country.The stats by region alone should in fact be by region + country, etc.
__________________
Christina
>>Forum Moderator<<

Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2005, 09:11 AM
tonyjoh tonyjoh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 21
Default

I think you misunderstand. this is the situation:

Under Country/state/city/isp

Refering link: from one of my websites
Host name: CPE-60-225-30-53.nsw.bigpond.net.au
IP: 60.225.30.53

This is all correct about me and my IP address, but what follows is nonsense, I am in Sydney, Australia, my ISP is Bigpond.

Country: United States
Region: Minnesota
City: Saulk Center
ISP: Telstrainternet40
Returning visits: 0
Length: spread over more than one day

Navigation Path: 12 visits recorded over a week.

It is possible that Bigpond may call itself Telstrainternet40 in some cases but Sualk Center etc can't be mistaken for Sydney Australia, nor do 0 returning visits correspond with 12 visits in navigation path. Although I would be surprised if my once or twice a week visits to this site tally with that info anyway. Seems something is amiss

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2005, 09:13 AM
tonyjoh tonyjoh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 21
Default

BTW In case you want to take a look around, the site is:

http://kingscross.blogs.com/librarian

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2005, 12:11 PM
Arne's Avatar
Arne Arne is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lulea, Sweden
Posts: 3,954
Default

Checked with http://www.whois.sc and get the following registered with the IP# 60.225.30.53

Blacklist Status: Listed (link to details)
Record Type: IP Address
IP Location: United States United States - Minnesota - Sauk Centre - Telstrainternet40
Reverse IP: No websites hosted using this IP address
Reverse DNS: CPE-60-225-30-53.nsw.bigpond.net.au

inetnum: 60.224.0.0 - 60.231.255.255
netname: TELSTRAINTERNET40-AU
descr: Telstra Internet
descr: Locked Bag 5744
descr: Canberra
descr: ACT 2601
country: AU

So it seams like your IP# (if you still have it) is located in the US, with the Bigpond DNS in Australia and the company responsible for the IP range including your IP# is Telstra Internet. Things like this, can confuse even the best when looking at the stats
__________________
Statcounter: Forum Rules, Knowledge Base, FAQ

Attention! When reporting problems with your counter, please tell what
partition yours is on by looking at the code you inserted and you will see:
var sc_partition=xx; in the Javascript portion, where "xx" is the number.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:02 PM
tonyjoh tonyjoh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 21
Default

Thank You very much. My world view has changed quite a bit now that I know that I am American, I'm getting a sudden urge to believe in god, drive a Chevy SUV and support the death penalty. Just kidding folks!

So now I have the interesting assumption to make that all these stats aren't particularly useful, because I cannot be certain that the country of origin of the computer user is necessarily correct. Particularly when trying to deal with my fellow country men, considering that Bigpond is the largest ISP here.

Any way around this?

The Global Village I generally support, but it throws up some curley's sometimes!

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2005, 03:05 PM
Arne's Avatar
Arne Arne is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lulea, Sweden
Posts: 3,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyjoh
Any way around this?
In a more global world it can be hard to get better geo-location logs, but I would be more worred about the IP# being blacklisted for spam if you are not responsible for the spamming.
__________________
Statcounter: Forum Rules, Knowledge Base, FAQ

Attention! When reporting problems with your counter, please tell what
partition yours is on by looking at the code you inserted and you will see:
var sc_partition=xx; in the Javascript portion, where "xx" is the number.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2005, 03:39 PM
webado's Avatar
webado webado is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28,145
Default

Sounds like a proxy relay setup.
__________________
Christina
>>Forum Moderator<<

Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:00 PM
tonyjoh tonyjoh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 21
Default

What is this spamming issue? I am currently getting emails that purport to be from my ISP but are not, is this part of what you are talking about? Do you mean people using my IP as their own because of a problem with the way my ISP set things up?

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:31 PM
webado's Avatar
webado webado is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28,145
Default

Not the same kind of spam.

Referrer spam is when you find hits in your stats that appear to come from other sites which have nothing to do with yours. You click on the links, so you end up seeing those sites. So in fact they tricked you into visiting their site.

They use programs to do this, so it's a simulation of a visit in fact, only purpose being to use your Statcounter project to log a fake visit.
__________________
Christina
>>Forum Moderator<<

Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.