![]() |
| Home | Demo | Services | Features | Help | User Forum | Blog | About | |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
I have started to see regular visits from Grass Valley California US in my StatCounter logs.
I have a few blogs in Turkish. And some of them had daily unique visits around 100. Almost all of them coming from Google search engine. They ranked very high in many keywords. Since I have been using StatCounter since last spring, I can notice all kinds of differences in my blogs traffics. And a few days ago I noticed a big decrease in my traffic. I thought it was a usual trend (maybe because its weekend or something). But the decrease continued and my blog which had daily 170-180 visits for months now gets 30 something. My other sites the same. And checking the keyword from StatCounter, I saw that my search engine rankings has fallen dramatically. The only difference I can notice is visits from Grass Valley California. Each having near but different IP numbers, and each 0 seconds long. Since these visits have started all my Google SERP's have gone done drastically. My only site that is still like before is the only site that this GRass Valley visitor hasn't entered. The same thing happened a few months ago. Again this Grass Valley visitor has started from one of my blogs and visited all of them without staying more than 0 seconds anywhere. And after those visits again I had big decreases in my Google search engine positions. But I touched nothing and it eventually recovered in a few weeks. But that was just one visit from Grass Valley visitor. This time its always around. I don't know what to do. I've researched the web to see if there's a bot or search engine located in Grass Valley, California. Couldn't. Since my sites are in Turkish, I don't think lots of Grass Valley residents are visiting them . But I can't find out what it is. The information is below. There are two kinds of entries. Please I need help. 1. Location: California, Grass Valley, United States Hostname: (38.98.19.79) visit length: 0 number of entries: 1 returning visits: 0 reffering URL: no referring link 2. Location: California, Grass Valley, United States Hostname: (38.98.19.66) entry page: http://www.blogcu.com/entry.php?u=ma..._opt=add_track exit page: http://www.blogcu.com/entry.php?u=ma..._opt=add_track |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
The hostname (IP) is according to Whois (whois.domaintools.com) for a company by the name Performance Systems International Inc.
At their front page (at www.psilimited.com) they say: Quote:
|
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
thank you very much for your quick reply. But I couldn't understand it. What does that have to do with my personal blogs?? I have nothing to do with music or movie downloads. I only have 2 downloaded videos from Google or YouTube on 2 of my blogs. Can it be a bot who is going around looking for stolen material? I have plenty of content but its all mine. My personal thoughts plus some translations from English. Where could I be getting this bot/visitor? from? How can I get rid of it? I am really worried because I have Adsense ads on my sites and my only source for traffic is natural search. |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I'll guess your blog is on a server that you don't have any access to, in any other meanings than add content directly to the pages from a online template? If so then can't see any way you can block them. If you have access to the server, you could use a .htaccess file to block their IP from accessing the blog pages. In this case you can search the forum for posts about it, e.g. http://forum.statcounter.com/vb/show...ight=.htaccess |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
I have access to the templates (its like blogger) but the IP no's are constantly changing can I block numbers like everything starting with (38.98.19.x) ? The x is always different. |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
The .htaccess file can contain an open ended ip like xxx.yyy.xzzz and it will block all addresses with the first 3 octets identical, and a vraible 4th one.
You cannot do anything with templates, those are only for designing web pages. You need to uplaod an .htaccess file (as long as the server is Apache). That controls access to the site. If you cannot do that, there's nothing else really. You could as your hoster to do it from their end. But I'd not worry about such visits. Rememebr why you haev a website - for it to be visited. Why you have a blog with rss feeds and such: to be better discovered by others.
__________________
Christina >>Forum Moderator<< Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that. |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Arne and Chrisooc thanks for your answers.
Quote:
IP numbers all located in Grass Valley California are not human and they have a bad effect on my rankings because of some reasons I can't understand. I have began to get 20-30 daily visits to sites which used to have over 150 daily visitors. I have lost all the keywords which I was ranking in Google's first page after these Grass Valley visits began. |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Arne and Chrisooc thanks for your help.
Quote:
I have began to get 20-30 daily visits to sites which used to have over 150 daily visitors. I have lost all the keywords which I was ranking in Google's first page after these Grass Valley visits began. Isn't there anybody who has noticed such visits besides me? |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
No, I did read it and it cannot be related. A coincidence at most.
Oh, maybe the search engines have discounted your site, you'll need to look at other reasons, like maybe there's a technical reason your site may not be well indxed, or it may present a spammy face to the search engine robots and perhaps you are facing a penalty, or duplicate content or something along those lines. Maybe you want to take a look at his page: http://groups.google.com/group/only-...ite-check-list and see what, if anything, may apply. The part about site ownership is only in the context of Google Sitemaps, so if you are not participating in that, it doesn't apply. Well, the part about doctype and syntax of meta tags would apply.
__________________
Christina >>Forum Moderator<< Please do not PM me for support. The forum is here for that. Last edited by webado; 02-06-2007 at 05:21 PM. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|