StatCounter User Forum  
StatCounter Free web tracker and counter

Go Back   StatCounter User Forum > StatCounter.com > Help

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2008, 02:11 PM
returninguser returninguser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default counter_xhtml.js

above file is in my local web folder and somehow my web folder at host.
I am using Expression Web and my site is not xhtml.js
or at least I don't think it is.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html xmlns:v="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml" xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice">

All I did was copy and paste code from statcounter to just above last </body> tag.

Question is how did counter_xhtml.js get there and should or can I remove it?

thanks
  #2  
Old 08-03-2008, 04:28 PM
Arne Arne is offline
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,463
Default

If ypu look at the source of your pages, you see the Statcounter code there. Within that code is a link to Statcounter's server, to the file "counter_xhtml.js" and there is where it should be. How and why it ended up in your web folder at your host, you must ask them. But it has no reason being there, and is just a copy. So you can definetely delete it from the folder.

BTW, what crap editor is "Expression Web"? Adding a Doctype tag like that to webpages should be considered a crime, if it is done by the editor!
  #3  
Old 08-03-2008, 07:13 PM
returninguser returninguser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default

Okay I deleted from my Web host. no problems.

Do I need counter_xhtml.js on my laptop folder web page?

It's been there for a long time?
  #4  
Old 08-03-2008, 07:24 PM
Arne Arne is offline
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by returninguser View Post
Okay I deleted from my Web host. no problems.

Do I need counter_xhtml.js on my laptop folder web page?

It's been there for a long time?
No, you don't need it anyware localy on your computers or on your webhost's servers. All you need is the link within the Statcounter code on your webpages, to the file on Statcounter's server.
  #5  
Old 08-03-2008, 11:05 PM
returninguser returninguser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default

OK. Thanks.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.