Attention Jonra:

Status
Not open for further replies.
The nice people at CarePages have given me (Rebecca Katz) a unique forum, one I’m hoping you’ll be take advantage of during what I know is a most difficult time. I’m a chef who specializes in helping people with cancer eat well before, during, and after treatment. I’m also the daughter of a cancer survivor, so my thoughts on the matter aren’t just academic, but come from years of personal experience with family, friends and clients.

In a phrase, I’m here for you. To answer any questions you have about eating well during cancer: Everything from meals you’d like to cook for a loved one battling the disease to replacing much-loved foods suddenly ‘banned’ by a physician. My approach is both as a nutritionist (I’m completing a masters in nutrition) and a chef. The two disciplines complement each other: Great nutrition must taste great to bring cancer patients back to the kitchen table again and again. That’s where being a chef comes in. I don’t put people on diets. In fact, I hate that word. What I do is give people healthier alternatives that mimic the tastes and textures they love. All this while delivering a nutritional wallop in each bite that keeps the immune system strong during treatment, calms treatment side effects (nausea, fatigue, diarrhea, etc.), and provides the essentials that may keep cancer from reoccurring during recovery. Whether a tea or a full meal, I want people with cancer to feel nourished whether they’re up to just one sip (as is often the case just after treatments) or a hearty sit-down dinner.

I’m also sensitive to psychological and physiological changes in cancer patients that affect their relationship to food. Damaged taste buds—a common side effect of chemotherapy—that dull the palette may seem unconquerable. Believe me, they’re not…and I can show you how food can be gently ‘tweaked’ in a way that makes patients utter a word they (and you) probably haven’t heard in a while: “YUM!!!!”