"Less than five seconds" is highly misleading (?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to StatCounter, but am so far very impressed by it. It shows me a ton of very useful data. However, one aspect troubles me, namely visit length.

Here's the situation. It has been explained to me that if a visitor loads only one page on my site, then StatCounter has no way of telling how long they were there. The visitor could have checked out that page for 2 seconds and left. Or they could have been there for an hour or more. If they don't load a second page, (apparently) Statcounter says that visit length is "not applicable", at least in one part of the interface.

That would be fine in itself but then there's the data in the Visit Length pie chart area.

When I look at this, I see that 90% of my visitors (apparently) stay for "less than 5 seconds."

What's more, I believe that if a visitor loads just one page, StatCounter puts that visit in the "less than 5 seconds" category in the pie chart.

If that's actually the case, then that creates a pretty major problem: it makes the visit length pie chart data highly unreliable.

Right now, the visit length pie chart for one of my sites says that 90% of visits are "less than five seconds" - there's a huge chunk of the pie devoted to that.

However, if what I've said above is correct, that information could be completely false.

Many people load just one page on the site. They may be on that page for 5 minutes or more. But it seems that Statcounter counts that as "less than 5 seconds" as far as the pie chart is concerned.

Firstly, is that correct?

If so, am I right in thinking that the visit length pie chart and "less than five seconds" category are highly unreliable?