Livejournal

Discussion in 'Discussion' started by fatandconfused, Sep 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fatandconfused

fatandconfused New Member

How do i add stat counter to livejournal?? i've never used notepad before soa very basic explanationw ould be be kindly appreciated

thnx

2. delirioussonjablue

delirioussonjablue New Member

This is what I do..

I have two projects related to livejournal with stat counter..

I have a friends only entry dated for 2025 so that it stays on the top of my page. (If you don't also have one of those on your journal, make sure you choose the "date out of order" box as well as the date so it doesn't screw up the rest of your posts.) In the friends only post, I include the code for stat counter. Keep in mind, this will only work for people going directly to your page to read it. Friends who read your entries from their friends page won't show up.

I also include the code for the 2nd project on the "about me" section of my user info page" to track who looks at that page as well.

The problem I'm having with this is that all of the other features of stat counter don't seem to work.. basically all of the ones with referring links, where they came from, entry and exit pages, etc.

Anyone have any info on why this is and how to correct it?

3. webado

webado Moderator

You cannot have any url information on Livejournal because you cannot use the full Statcounter code with javascript, which is what's needed in order to have url information.

4. Arne

Arne New Member

Well, I have no personal experience using Livejournal, so this is just a guess based on what I learned.

So, if Livejournal allows counters at all, then I will guess the Statcounter's HTML Only version is what is possible. Is that what you have, then there is not possible to get those detailed stats that is provided thruu the Javascript portion of the full counter code, e.g. referring links, came from, entry and exit pages, etc.